The Entertainment Guide

Latest Reviews

Jesmond Dene House

Rating of 4 out of 5

We had a wonderful stay at the Jesmond Dene Hotel. We stayed for two nights & really enjoyed the hotel facilities & surrounding area for walks etc. Our son is at Newcastle uni & living in jesmond so the hotel is ideally placed for us meeting & spending relaxing time together. There is a lovely bar & polite staff. The drinks were lovely & the open fire a real bonus. Breakfast was very good & the service was friendly. Our room was beautiful with all the things you need for a relaxing stay! Good quality robes & a good selection of tea & coffee etc. We would definitely book again & look forward to returning soon. A lovely building & a real retreat but still close to shops & bars. Many thanks to all the team & a special thank you to Joanne the general manager who managed our booking & stay.

Reviewed By: Kath H - 19/01/2024

Boulder World Belfast

Rating of 4 out of 5

Brilliant fun and good exercise. The whole atmosphere is friendly and the people in the gym are helpful. This was my second time, the first time there Saul showed us round and was an excellent guide.

Reviewed By: Benny G - 03/02/2024

Adam's Restaurant

Rating of 5 out of 5

We booked into Adam’s for a Saturday lunch as it was my wife’s birthday. It was excellent. We had the 7 course taster menu. Some exceptional dishes (Halibut, lamb, blood orange stood out) Staff were excellent, all in a very pleasant and atmospheric restaurant. Would definitely return. Some nice little touches from the restaurant for my wife’s birthday aswell.

Reviewed By: Andy S - 10/03/2024

The Granville

Rating of 3 out of 5

We paid £150 for a standard double room for one night. The view was not good and the room was average unlike the images on the website where the room looks great. It was OK but nothing special. Overpriced for the room and standard of breakfast.

Reviewed By: Tracey B - 26/04/2023

Furness Abbey

Rating of 5 out of 5

Very peaceful place. Great ruins - has a lovely lady staff member. No tea shop but has hot drinks machine. Muddy at the moment, but that's due to the amount of rain - let's dogs in too.

Reviewed By: Sue Davis - 15/03/2024

Bar West

Rating of 3 out of 5

Visited here with some family. The place has nice decor and surroundings. Good selection of drinks. The food wasn’t amazing unfortunately, tasty enough but no wow factor. All in all not bad but not fantastic.

Reviewed By: Charles P - 07/05/2022

San Carlo Cicchetti

Rating of 3 out of 5

A few of us went on a Friday night who have never been before. The concept of Italian tapas was explained and we ordered accordingly. The food was fabulous, the fritto portofino was particularly amazing as was all the pasta we had. The place had a really lovely atmosphere. The big issue though was the disgraceful state of the ladies loos. Out of the three, only one was working, one was completely blocked (and disgusting) and one had a tatty out of order sign on it with the sanitary towel box sat on top of the loo. The taps were wafting about in the breeze and it was generally in a poor state of repair. These things matter Cicchetti, talk about fur coat and no knickers!

Reviewed By: Catherine H - 09/01/2024

Willowbeck Lodge

Rating of 5 out of 5

This place is a piece of tranquility just off the motorway. Hazel room was amazing. The bathroom was huge as was the super king bed. They have a wonderful restaurant which serves delicious food and they let me invent the Willowbeck Whistle gin cocktail. If you go, ask for one.

Reviewed By: Joanne S - 24/03/2024

Royal Thai

Rating of 3 out of 5

It was a bit old-fashioned and vague/pale. The food was not bad, but also not splendid. Not spicy enough. Not the best Thai I’ve ever had, but OK if your expectations aren’t too high.

Reviewed By: Edwin J - 21/03/2023

Orton Grange Cafe

Rating of 3 out of 5

Orton Grange Cafe has friendly staff, a beautiful interior and is spotlessly clean, but like so many others have said, the prices are too high and the food isn't value for money. £ 3.50 for a small piece of cake and £ 3.20 for a coffee is OTT, considering other cafes in the area charge considerably less. I won't be coming back due to the high prices for mediocre food and others have said Orton Grange Cafe charges over the odds for small sized meals. This cafe, which is part of a well liked food hall specialising in local produce, should maybe look at cutting their prices to reflect what other places charge in the area as they'll lose custom.

Reviewed By: Glenn A - 29/05/2023

The Belfry Golf

Rating of 4 out of 5

Played the derby course today. Wet, but I expected that still love this course.my pick up mini bus down to 1st tee was great as always friendly driver. But needs a good clean out I was shocked at this

Reviewed By: Michael C - 20/03/2024

Catherine Jones Jewellery

Rating of 4 out of 5

I bought a beautiful ring, designed in Germany - I wanted something unique, not too expensive and a great memento that I would cherish from my trip - and what the salesman helped me find was perfect!

Reviewed By: Suzanne B - 21/01/2024

The Towers Hotel & Spa

Rating of 5 out of 5

This was booked to support accommodation for a group of us spending a weekend walking in Brecon. Loads of parking, check in was simple, pleasant & efficient. Our room was on a lower level, but really pleasant with French doors opening into a paved area adjacent to the gardens - lovely! Really nice bathroom with bath, really powerful shower and loads of hot water- oh & huge fluffy towels!

Reviewed By: Susan B - 15/03/2024

Aberdeen Maritime Museum

Rating of 5 out of 5

What a gem! Firstly, it was free, donations accepted. We took the lift to the top floor and worked our way around the museum and down the circular stairs! Learning about the very interesting history of Aberdeen, from fishing port to oil over the centuries, with many interactive features.

Reviewed By: Jacqui C - 17/03/2024

Cosmo - Glasgow, St Enoch

Rating of 4 out of 5

Fantastic best Buffet in Glasgow by far Fresh food and well presented staff.

Reviewed By: Gary Toner - 21/05/2024

Oystermouth Castle

Rating of 5 out of 5

Welcomed by the volunteers who were so keen to share the history. Beautiful views from the hill and castle - not to be missed.

Reviewed By: Elizabeth H - 27/03/2024

Manor House Golf Club

Rating of 4 out of 5

4 friends met here for a fun golfing day out. The course was in excellent condition, the design is world class and we had a wonderful day. One small criticism was the post round drinks prices; 8 beers, 1 sandwich and 1 bowl of chips - £60!!!!! That being said, we will be back.

Reviewed By: Andrew S - 31/01/2024

Arnos Manor Hotel

Rating of 3 out of 5

Just OK. Rooms were clean but very dated & the beds were pretty comfortable. Floorboards were extremely creaky all across the room which must have been annoying for anyone staying in the room beneath. To summarise, if you pay sub £40 per night you'll feel you got OK value, however anything over that feels as if it would be excessive for what you get.

Reviewed By: Miles H - 06/03/2023